Glossybox USA January 2013

2013-02-10-manbox

January’s special Man Repeller box actually arrived in February for me, and one that I took a chance on. After debating whether to keep subscribing or to cancel for this month, I decided to say “Yes!” and gave Glossybox one more try. At $21 a month, Glossybox has a higher expectation to fulfill as a beauty box subscription service.

How did it go this month?

2013-02-10-card3

The note from the Man Repeller herself, Leandra. And the list and descriptions of all seven products to be included.

2013-02-10-card

2013-02-10-card2

2013-02-10-glossy

Here’s all the items received (and notice something missing?). All items described below!

2013-02-10-mascara

Estée Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Lash Multiplying Volume Mascara in Extreme Black | My second mascara from Estée Lauder (my first from a while back was the Double Wear). Subscription services do like sending me mascaras! I’ve been liking volume-building mascaras and currently, I’ve been using theBalm’s “the body builder” from ipsy. After I’m done with it, I would definitely give this fiber mascara a try.

2013-02-10-fresh

Fresh Umbrian Clay Mattifying Serum | My skin doesn’t need much mattifying right now due to all this cold weather and because of my skin type, but in warmer months I would see how this works. It claims to control shine and minimize the appearance of pores.

2013-02-10-meti

Le Métier de Beauté Replenishing Daily Solution | One product I would never ever buy full-size – it costs $225! This foil packet contains a cream worth more than gold perhaps; and it says that product protects, conditions, hydrates, nourishes, rejuvenates, detoxifies, and restores skin. Whew!

2013-02-10-narc

Narcisco Rodriguez for her Eau de Toilette Spray | My second sample of this fragrance. Described as: floral, feminine, warm, and velvet.

2013-02-10-manbox

OPI “Can’t Let Go” Liquid Sand Nail Lacquer | Completely missing from my box. I’m disappointed and have already contacted customer support.

2013-02-10-sebast

Sebastian Professional Potion 9 | Mysterious name! This is a styling cream that restores moisture and also has a flexible hold.

2013-02-10-tarte2013-02-10-tartewild

tarte glamazon pure performance 12-hour lipstick in wild | My full-size product from the box and I’m quite happy to try it. I’ve never spent more than $10 on a lippy and the full-size tarte lipstick costs $26. I like the wooden packaging and the pattern on the outside. Wild is a cool-toned red, but still has a vibrancy to it. It glided on smoothly when I tried it and shows up more pink on my lips than red.

Overall, I’m slightly disappointed with Glossybox due to their lack of care in packing their products and their customer service. First, my box arrived with little scratches and dings on it, like it was dropped while being handled and second, of course, my missing OPI polish. The issue for now has been resolved, but it did take a little more hassle than there should have been.

I did like the products and the value of the box overall was worth over $21.

Lastly, there was also the issue of the box arriving quite late. I know that there was a lot of hubbub for this box and thus, more subscribers and more delays, but in my opinion, the company should not sell more than it could handle. Quality should not be compromised at all!

_______

Get Glossybox (referral link)

Leave a Reply

