Birchbox January + February 2013

20130214_birchbox

I’m a little behind with Birchbox reviews for the year, so here’s a big open-box, first impression review post for these past two months!

20130214_febbirchbox

February’s theme is “Red Carpet Ready”‘ which was quite similar to ipsy’s theme this month (review coming soon!). Birchbox says these items will make you feel like you’ve got a crew of pros helping you pick out products and make you over like a celeb.

Color Club nail polish in Wild Cactus | A mini-size of this year’s trendy emerald color. Very rich and a one-coat polish when I tried it out. A little thick on application but manageable if you’re careful.

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle | A small red bottle of hair product. Haven’t tried it yet, but I definitely need a good detangler/protectant for my thick hair.

Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm  | Small tube of BB cream, which is designed to be a foundation with benefits. The tube looks like a good sized sample, but it’s not filled all the way up. It had a thick feeling on my skin when I dabbed a little on my face.

Juicy Couture Couture La La | This scent is a mix of mandarin, red currant, lily, and orange blossom. Hmm, haven’t tried it yet, but I do like citrusy scents.

Ghirardelli Milk & Caramel | Uh, it’s chocolate? And it’s good? A sweet February surprise, but I would rather try a beauty product.

2013-01-19-birchbox

2013-01-19-birchsizes

My January box. Everything was so… cute and tiny. Looking at the picture above, all the samples were the size of a .05 ml perfume sample or smaller.

theBalm Hot Mama | A blush/highlighter that has been in some past Birchboxes. theBalm has some wonderful high-quality pigmented products and I like this pink blush with a hint of gold shimmer

Ojon rare blend oil Total Hair Therapy | A vial of hair oil in three colors. Such a small size and I wish it would be a larger, more deluxe size so I could actually see how well it works.

Harvey Prince Skinny Chic | The perfume sample for this month. It’s claiming to be a way to fight food cravings? Huh? It’s scent is apple, mint, and lotus blossom.

LASHEM Lash Serum | I was supposed to have received the Lashem Mascara, but received this instead. Another tiny little sample which claims to fortify lashes.

Embryolisse Lait-Créme Concentré | Cute little tube of moisturizer from a French company with a weird little name. The card says it’s a favorite of models and makeup artists, so it is definitely worth a try from me.

Overall: I have received in total, three boxes from Birchbox. February’s box was barely worth over the $10 price of the box and January’s box had samples that were tiny. Disregarding the “value”of items, I personally was excited to try out some of the samples such as the Hot Mama blush and the hair detangler. I’m happy that Birchbox has a point system, so that every product you review gets you a dollar credit back because some of the samples were just… okay.

I’ll have a more in-depth sample review once I’m thoroughly done testing them out.

___________

Sign up for Birchbox!

One thought on “Birchbox January + February 2013

Leave a Reply

