Ipsy March 2013 Review

201303-ipsymarch

Hi all! It’s the end of the month which means, yes, the two main subscription beauty boxes should be revealing April’s upcoming box spoilers. March’s bag arrived in the middle of March, just in time for spring! March’s theme for ipsy is “The Great Escape” which focuses on travel/spring break. For the price of $10, what all did ipsy-ers get this month?

201303-ipsycard

201303-ipsybagout

The bag this month is the standard zip-top bag, but not in the usual solids. The print is actually pretty cute with dark stripes wrapped with nautical anchors and rope. Quality is about usual, and not flimsy at all.

201303-lafresh

LA Fresh Travel-lite Makeup Remover Wipes | My second sample of LA Fresh product – my first was the nail polish remover wipes from Birchbox. Not terribly exciting, but wipes are always welcome to keep on hand for travel.

201303-juice

Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist | This organic spray claims to tone and refresh your skin. It’s composed of blend of rosehips, ylang ylang, grapeseed oil, and juices (white grape and aloe). I sprayed it on my wrist to test out its scent, and it definitely has a very rose/floral scent that leans more towards the “green” rather than sweet. I don’t know if I would spray it directly on my face, but I would maybe pat it on gently, so I wouldn’t get a full-blast of the strong scent all over my face.

201303-yaby

Yaby eye shadows | Four colors were sent out this month, and I received Azalea Petal (left) and Seashell (right). I really like Seashell, which was a shimmery cream color and would be a good highlight for me. Azalea Petal, a pinkish-cranberry shade, did not have as much pigmentation as higher quality shadows, but it is usable if you like a sheerer wash of color.

201303-glamrx

201303-glamrx2

GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette | A freestyle palette is used to hold depotted or eye shadows that are just in pans. They usually have a magnetic base and eye shadows that have magnetized pans can just be popped in and arranged in any way. Lots of pans are *not* magnetized though, but the Yaby shadows that came this month are compatible.

The GlamRX palette is about the size of a credit card, has a magnetic closure, and a small mirror inside. To compare in size to a large Z-palette, about 4 GlamRX minis can fit inside it! I liked the size of it and it feels pretty solid in my hand. In mine, I popped in 10 mini eye shadows, but it looks like it could maybe hold about 2-4 regular sized shadows.

Overall: Not a bad month, but I feel like it’s not to everyone’s taste especially if you do not have loose pans of eye shadows to pop in the palette. The GlamRX palette is my favorite item this month, and I like the print on the bag (which I hope they keep doing!). I would use the toner mist and wipes, but probably would not purchase them if I run out. I’m hoping ipsy will have different types of products next month rather than eye shadows such as blush or bronzer!

______

Ipsy infomation: $10 a month/currently a wait list to subscribe/no referral program or perks for referrals

Subscription purchased by me!

One thought on “Ipsy March 2013 Review

Leave a Reply

