Birchbox April 2013 Review

2013-04-birchbox

Time for another Birchbox review, and for April, Birchbox had partnered up with Women’s Health magazine to promote this month’s theme of “Tiny Tweaks, Big Results”.

2013-04-bb-sleeve

The first thing greeting you this month is a lime green sleeve with a very flexible woman stretching! I don’t know how these products will promote healthy living and exercise, but I digress. With this month’s magazine partner, Birchbox has also sent out a card for a free year’s subscription to Woman’s Health (or $9.99 rebate, which would make this box free)!

2013-04-bbcontents

My box this month was a monster! It weighed at almost 1-lb, which is twice the usual shipping weight of around .4-.5 lbs. I’ve been liking how they’ve been packing things in this pillow box to protect smaller things from shifting too much.

2013-04-bbsizes

Five items this month! Not too bad, and I think I received two full-sized items and some good sized sampler items.

2013-04-footsalve2

J.R. Watkins Peppermint Foot Repair Salve | Sample size .25 oz; full-size 2.1 oz. I had the hardest time opening this tin! The salve is like Vaseline, but with a pleasant minty scent. The directions say to smooth it over your feet overnight and cover with socks for a nice feet pampering.

2013-04-simple

Simple Revitalizing Eye Roll-on | Full-sized .5 fl oz. A gel with vitamins and cucumber extract that claims to reduce puffiness and dark circles around the eye. I really like this product! It has a metal rollerball at the end which stays pleasantly cool and I like how Simple uses natural ingredients.

2013-04-nexxus

Nexxus® Hydra-Light™ Leave-In Conditioning Foam | Full-sized. This full-sized product just barely fit into the box. Instructions say to add a few pumps to damp hair and blow dry or try it on dry hair to help control frizz. I love the idea of leave-in conditioners, but haven’t tried one that was a foam formula just yet.

2013-04-supergoop

Supergoop!® Daily Correct SPF 35 CC Cream | This small sample tube contains maybe about 3-4 uses of CC cream. A CC cream is different than a BB (beauty balm) cream just slightly in that it is designed to be more color correcting (the CC part). The problem with most CC and BB creams is that they are not designed for extremely light skin tones, but I think for my light-medium skin, it should be fine.

2013-04-caudalie

Caudalie Divine Oil | Sample size 3 ml; Full-sized 100 ml. I’ve just gotten into the benefits of oils for the skin and hair. This Divine oil is comprised of a mixture of grape, hibiscus, sesame, and Argan oil and can be used on the skin or on the ends of your hair.

Overall, I think Birchbox has had a fantastic selection of April boxes. I’m happy to have received items that I’m excited to try out and some in very generous sizes. This may be my most favorite month yet.

Products: 9/10

Value: 10/10 (full-sized products exceeding price paid, $9.99 magazine rebate)

____

Birchbox infomation: $10 a month/Get 10 points for every review (100 points = $10)/Referral program for points

Box purchased by me! I appreciate it if you use my referral link! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

