Ipsy May 2013 Review

may ipsy bag

Happy May!  The weather here is quite weird, having winter sandwiched between weeks of summer-like warmth and torrential rain showers. Anyways, did May’s ipsy glam bag impress?

The theme for ipsy this month was Spring Fling and I was pleased with the colors and presentation of the bag overall this month. ipsy partnered with nine brands this month (ten counting the bonus Urban Decay shadow) and the Spring Fling card shows all the discounts this month you can see from your ipsy Glam Room. An extra card addressed to “my dearest ipster” had a NuMe code for $110 off Styling Tools and et cetera.

ipsy may 2013 products

All the products this month! Everything fit nicely into the teal and orange chevron print bag. Read on for quick reviews of all the products

2013-05-15-ipsyconcealer

yaby concealer in Honey (cc042) | A small pan of cream concealer. I think the colors were randomly sent out because I’ve seen posts that some of those who answered fair received dark pans, and those who answered tanner/darker skin have received lighter colors.

2013-05-15-ipsyconcealer2

I compared the concealer to my L’oreal True Match foundations (W3 on the left and W1 on the right). It’s a little bit darker than the W3, but possibly can be used as a contour cream for me.

2013-05-15-ipsypiaf

Zoya Nail Lacquer in Piaf | I love Zoya’s colors and nail polish formula. Piaf is a light yellow-ish, gold shimmer and a very unique color for my collection.

Now onto those personalized product variations:

2013-05-15-ipsytropez

St. Tropez Instant Glow Body Lotion | St. Tropez is a brand sold in Sephora (I received another St. Tropez lotion from a Sephora sample bag last year) so I expect this product to be “better” than a drugstore self-tanner. Self tanners are a little bit finicky to apply since you have to be careful and exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate and tricky to apply evenly. I hope it won’t look too fake on my light-medium skin (and my light legs).

2013-05-15-ipsypacifica

Pacifica Perfume Roll-on in Island Vanilla | ipsy is amazing with great sample sizes, and this roll-on is full-sized! I like the cute packaging, and the scent of this leans more towards the sweet side of vanilla. Very yummy.

2013-05-15-ipsylipstick

Mirabella Colour Sheer in Posy | This is vibrant berry color with a sheerness to it. Other colors being sent out include Daydream (soft pink), Charmed (brighter pink), and Pixie (coral). I think this is the darkest color that was sent out and it looks pretty nice swatched.

Overall, this box was fantastic this month! ipsy partnered up with some great brands (even with those brands we’ve seen before) and all the full-sized products are such a great value for just $10 a month. I even ordered a second bag (coming soon!) so I can share some products with my friends (and get some more variations for myself)!

Products: 8/10 (concealer not a true match, I rarely use bronzer)

Value: 10/10 (full sizes, over $50 value)

____

ipsy:

Bag paid for by me. $10 a month

Referral link

One thought on “Ipsy May 2013 Review

Leave a Reply

